Original Five

The first Sheriff for Peel County was Robert Broddy. He was the last Sheriff appointed by Prime Minister Sir John A. MacDonald in 1867. He was known for his splendid horses named Salt and Pepper. He served in this capacity until 1910 when he died at age 86. He was born in Chinguacousy and the area where he lived and raised six children was named Broddytown. It is now Bramalea.  

When the Region of Peel was formed on January 1, 1974, the Region of Peel Police Department was founded by amalgamating the police forces of Mississauga, Brampton. Chinguacousy , Port Credit and Streetsville. Doug Burrows became the first Police Chief and the force worked out of 168 Kennedy Road in Brampton.  

Chief Burrows' career spanned 35 years of dedicated service. He had spent his first four years as a police officer with the Ontario Provincial Police, which brought him into the Toronto Township Police Department in 1960. His contribution to the force becoming the best in the country can be summed up by his officers ability to shine in a crisis such as the train derailment of November 10, 1979.  

In 1988, Chief Burrows retired and Deputy Chief William Teggart, best know for his expertise in homicide cases, especially the Demeter murder of 1973, was appointed Chief. He retired in 1990 and was followed by Robert Lunney.  

When Chief Lunney retired in 1997, Noel Catney was appointed Chief on April 24, 1997. Catney had 27 years of distinguished service to back up his new position. These dedicated Police Chiefs have received numerous awards and accolades during their illustrious careers for their overwhelming achievements.  

But what stands out the most from their years of involvement in police business is their dedication to their job, their constant studying of criminal investigation and strategy to improve their expertise and knowledge of the criminal element, their bravery under the most dire circumstances.  

Peel Regional Police is the second largest municipal police service in Ontario, Peel Regional Police polices the cities of Mississauga and Brampton and serves the travelers who annually pass through Pearson International Airport.